CEC and Special Olympics celebrate exceptional!

From the playing field to the stage

On Wednesday, Feb. 7 we will recognize Special Olympics during the CEC 2018 Convention & Expo Opening General Session. Thomas Shervington, a seventeen-year-old Special Olympics Athlete, will take the stage to accept the 2018 CEC Organizational Award on behalf of Special Olympics.

Thomas is an accomplished athlete and promising leader who is no stranger to accepting awards. He has competed in basketball, bowling, softball, bocce, tennis, and golf—bringing home 11 medals at the state level. And in 2016, he was the recipient of the Special Olympics Florida-Hillsborough County Zenay Morales Award for his exemplary courage and leadership. Thomas loves the platform that Special Olympics provides to play sports and to develop as a leader among his fellow athletes and peers.

CEC Past President Jerry Hime, who has been involved in Special Olympics for over forty years, describes the organization as “a true advocate of the inclusion movement” that has provided “fifty years of outstanding service and dedication to changing the lives of millions of individuals throughout the world.” CEC is thrilled to honor another organization that shares our core values: visionary thinking, integrity, and inclusiveness.

Since 1968, Special Olympics has been committed to providing year-round sports training and athletic competition in a variety of Olympic-type sports for children and adults with intellectual disabilities. Through its history, the program has changed the way society perceives individuals with disabilities, and today is the largest sports organization for people with intellectual disabilities—with more than 4.9 million athletes in 172 countries.

CEC Past Presidents Mikki Garcia and Jerry Hime with Special Olympics chairman, Dr. Timothy Shriver.
CEC Past Presidents Mikki Garcia and Jerry Hime with Special Olympics chairman, Dr. Timothy Shriver.

In the CEC 2018 spotlight

During the CEC 2018 Opening General Session, CEC will recognize four outstanding members of its community with the CEC 2018 Professional Awards.

CEC Clarissa Hug Teacher of the Year
Sara Klug
ESE Teacher
Morgan Fitzgerald Middle School
Clearwater, Fla.

CEC J.E. Wallace Wallin Lifetime Achievement Award
Susan Fowler
Professor Emeritus
Dept. of Special Education, University of Illinois
Champaign, Ill.

Frederick J. Weintraub Outstanding Leadership Award
Antonis Katsiyannis
Alumni Distinguished Professor   
Clemson University
Clemson, S.C.

CEC Special Education Research Award
Diane Browder
Distinguished Professor of Special Education and Ph.D. Program Coordinator
University North Carolina at Charlotte
Charlotte, N.C.

Learn more about the CEC 2018 Professional Award Recipients.

Bylaws comment period deadline extended
**REMINDER** In Nov. 2017, the Board of Directors voted to accept the recommendations of the Governance Assessment Workgroup and to begin revisions to CEC’s governance practices. To accommodate the approved changes, the CEC Bylaws need to be updated. Members can read the proposed amendments and submit their comments for consideration by the board. The deadline for comments has been extended to Feb. 20, 2018. Read the proposed amendments.  

Check Also

How to Create the Best IEP and IEP Results…Even from a Distance

As someone who has spent her career delivering speech therapy to students and schools online, here are some tips based on my experiences to ensure that you and your IEP team are able to keep IEP meetings productive, positive, and consistent during this inconsistent time.

Leave a review!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *